For Whom the Bell Tolls

So I continue to commit to my blog weekly initiative by returning on my day of rest to to share some thoughts#commitment. The first is personal about a significant time coming up for me hence the topic title#thebelltolls.

If you are unemployed, like myself, you pay attention to the applications you apply for and dispair. Lately I have been noticing a new trend. Either well below the rest of the application or in the fine print, the following  disclaimers are going mode in the application process:

Local Applicants Only 

Please Do Not Apply if Uunemployed for a Year

 

I feel like Quasimodo. The first seemed a purposeful thwart to my tactic of applying across the country. I decided to follow my father’s and friend’s advice to follow the work. There is very little here where I live but I hear Chicago is looking for people. Yeah, they’re looking for Chicago natives-_-. Whatever do it any way, never know I might luck up#wishfulthinking. It was the second disclaimer that warranted a really? Like really? Yeah really. I don’t know the economical big picture (shame on me) but to me this was a giant red flag of times to come. Especially since yours truly gets to celebrate her official 7 month of unemployment today*rolls eyes*.

So now it’s a la mode for companies to blacklist applicants if they have been unemployed for a year or more? My DES has gone from mild to acute.  Of course this new fashion statement is justified with “deterioration of skills” and “alienation from office environment causes a loss of proper etiquette” excuses, but really? It’s not enough that entry-level positions demand 2-3 years of experience, or that advanced degrees compete with bachelor degrees for the same barely-above minimum wage entry-level position. No, today’s talent doesn’t have enough hoops to jump through in this job market, let’s add another and let’s make it big. I can’t be the only one that sees a counterproductive cycle in the job market can I? In a time of terms like “experience”, “relevant industry experience”,”poor economy”, “job shortage”, “education”,  “branding”  and “relative skill set” are we really going to cut off talent this way? Half those terms are supposed to be criterion to finding the right candidate but coupled with the others it serves more and more to cut the pool down to those ALREADY employed and freshly graduated, cycling out the job hunters to the permanently unemployable because they were unemployed.

The obvious solution is to go back to school and “ride” the recession out so to speak. That option is just as undesirable as my present circumstances, though I am exploring it. But really, what person who has already accumulated a mountain of debt for their first education wants to go further into debt for a second one? My debt is very small compared to some of my peers, but it’s still money I can’t pay back.

So can you see why I can hear the bells? In five months I’ll be blacklisted from higher-paying (and many other) employment opportunities for being unemployed (despite a very active search). So now the forseeable goal is to enroll for the spring and continue the hunt.

In five months, I’ll no longer be suffering from DES, I will have contracted UD (Unemployable Disease) if I don’t get a job by then.

Uitori.

Talk to Me

